Is it nice..?

Tiesto at Thirst 2011

Posted in Is it Nice..?, Photoblog! by Ade Chong on December 14, 2011

Last weekend we went up to KL to catch Tiesto at Heineken’s Thirst 2011 rave at the Sepang International Circuit. Since it was my first Malaysian rave, I really didn’t know what to expect, I had set my expectations to level with Zoukout. I don’t think it was any coincidence that Thirst just happened to be on the same night as Zoukout either. I was really pleasantly surprised when we got there. Okay, so the organisation was not as good as Zoukout, the ticket collection counter was a small shack that had a crowd of people jostling to get their tickets, and there definitely weren’t as many toilets. But the crowd was really really refreshing. People were pleasant and polite. No one elbowed me to get through. People even apologised for bumping me, and this guy gave up his spot up for Weiming when he wanted to rest. It was the first time that I realised that Malaysians were actually much more civilised than Singaporeans. I don’t understand how a country as modern and developed as ours can have people that are so bad-mannered and rude.

But anyways, back to the rave. Tiesto really didn’t let us down. It was the first time in my life that I raved for four hours completely sober – I didn’t want to drink cause that would mean I’d have to use the bathroom – and I think I enjoyed it even more than I would’ve drunk. I know this sounds cheesy but I really have never felt more alive than in that three hours of my life. His music just moves you, you have absolutely no control over your body when he plays. We went so hard for four straight hours (including Blink’s set) that we were sweating buckets, and there was really no time to rest. I genuinely felt like it required more endurance than a marathon. But it was a fucking fucking fucking enjoyable marathon.

\

And the people that made it 10,000 times more fun. I’m so fucking proud of the adults for raving with us. It still amazes me that our age group ranges from 21 to 50 and yet we can do things like Thirst together. I also can’t express just how great it feels to come back from a weekend full of so much love from these guys, it’s really what makes staying in Singapore so bearable. LOVE!!!

P/S: Some photos are from Hock’s album.

Leave a Reply

