Is it nice..?

You can only work for people that you like

Posted in Is it Nice..? by Ade Chong on July 28, 2011

YOU CAN ONLY WORK FOR PEOPLE THAT YOU LIKE

This is a curious rule and it took me a long time to learn because in fact at the beginning of my practice I felt the opposite. Professionalism required that you didn’t particularly like the people that you worked for or at least maintained an arms length relationship to them, which meant that I never had lunch with a client or saw them socially. Then some years ago I realised that the opposite was true. I discovered that all the work I had done that was meaningful and significant came out of an affectionate relationship with a client. And I am not talking about professionalism; I am talking about affection. I am talking about a client and you sharing some common ground. That in fact your view of life is someway congruent with the client, otherwise it is a bitter and hopeless struggle.

– Milton Glaser

Ten Things I Have Learned from the AIGA Talk in London, November 22, 2001.

Leave a Reply

