Is it nice..?

On death

Posted in Is it Nice..? by Ade Chong on March 22, 2011

It’s weird, in the past two days, there have been three deaths. One, the suicide of a stranger that a friend came across. The other, an acquaintance I once knew who took his own life. And the third, a family member who finally succumbed to his struggle with cancer. The weird thing is that, aside from the initial shock, the only thing I felt was.. nothingness. Just, blank, stoned.. a little unsure as to what I should be feeling.

It’s kind of comforting that I can still joke about death though. And that I have friends who can. Not that we’re taking it lightly or being disrespectful. I just think, death is a part of life. And, though pain and sorrow are only natural, it’s just baggage. And it makes me feel really good knowing that the day I lose someone really close to me, I’ll still have friends there to make me laugh and smile.

To quote my dearest godparents, Hock & Ix, “Celebrating the life of someone is so much better than mourning death.”

Leave a Reply

