Is it nice..?

Standard responses

Posted in Is it Nice..? by Ade Chong on August 23, 2010

One thing I’ve noticed since I got here is the following conversations that seem to repeat themselves amongst different people:

X = the other person.

1. I have taste in music.

(insert random conversation about music/gigs)
X: I have to say I’m surprised.
X: You actually have proper taste in music.
Me: !!! Did you ever think otherwise?
X: Well, yes. I thought you’d listen to rubbish, like Steph.

2. I’m a smoker.

X: Lets go for a smoke. / Cigarette? / Have you got a light?
Me: Nah, I don’t smoke.
X: Yes you do.
Me: No I don’t.
X: No no, I’ve seen you smoke.
Me: When have you ever seen me smoke?
X: Nooooooo I swear I saw you smoke at… (insert O_O face)

3. Stella talk

X: Drink?
Me: Yes please! I’ll have a Stella
Standard response 1: Ade, you’re a man!!!
Standard response 2: Stella? Respect. You know they call it the wifebeater beer, don’t you?
Standard response 3: Only true alcoholics drink Stella, I like you.

Leave a Reply

