Is it nice..?

VODKAAAAAAA!!!

Posted in Is it Nice..? by Ade Chong on July 23, 2009

That’s my grandmother. Really. The same one who once told my sister to go back and punch the girl who bullied her in kindergarten. And then pretended she didn’t tell her to do it when the headmistress called. TOPS ok.

Also, I just finished reading His Dark Materials by Phillip Pullman (made famous by the somewhat lousy movie, The Golden Compass) again. Actually, I think this is my third or fourth time reading the trilogy. I started reading it again when my mac died, and surprisingly, I couldn’t put any of the 3 books down, even though I already knew what was going to happen. It’s honestly an astonishing book, and I’d recommend it to anyone who hasn’t yet been enlightened by it.

The trilogy functions in part as a retelling and inversion of John Milton’s epic, Paradise Lost; with Pullman commending humanity for what Milton saw as its most tragic failing.

I think I took to this book so much not because of the fantastic plot and brilliant imagination (not that it wasn’t fantastic and brilliant, it so was) but because of the somewhat negative portrayal of organised religion. And it was not unfair and unjust, there were logical views on it. I think when I first read this book I was still semi-christian. And upon reading it, I felt like.. I had grown a brain. That I could see what faith had blinded me of. And it was not like the book greatly influenced my thinking, it just opened up a new aspect, like a fourth dimension that you never knew was there before. And we all have the choice to look at it, to study and explore that other dimension, or to remain ignorant to it. And to me, it was just so deliciously illuminating.

It’s funny to think in retrospect that I evolved from Christian to Atheist to Agnostic/Humanist. And it seems most of my friends have gone the same way. We must all just be highly intelligent people. hehe

On a somewhat related note, I’m going to try and get my hands on Paradise Lost. I suddenly have a thirst to know what it contains. I also think my mac’s temporary death has relit my passion for reading. I’m going to try and read all the literature books that I missed out on in Secondary school, and I’m starting with To Kill a Mockingbird. Priya tells me it’s crap but I’m gonna try anyway. Recommendations please!

Leave a Reply

